What I’m Watching: My Fall 2016 TV Guide

As an avid TV fan and aspiring TV writer, I’m often asked the questions, “What do you like to watch?” and “What are your favorite shows?” and “What are you watching?”. I’m pretty much asked some variant of this every time I meet someone new and we talk career stuff, so you’d think I’d have come up with a good answer by now. But NOPE. I’m almost always completely frazzled by the question and can’t think of a proper, concise answer because honestly… I WATCH TOO MANY SHOWS. (And yet still not enough.)

So here’s a compilation of everything I’m currently watching. I say CURRENTLY as in currently airing or having aired episodes in the current year. Out of all these shows, I genuinely hope you, dear reader, also watch at least a handful of them. If you do, we’re gonna need to get together ASAP and fangirl out because I LOVE talking bout my shows! Or hey, if you’re looking for some new shows to watch, maybe I’ll convince you to check some of these out.

For my own peace of mind, I have organized the shows into Half-Hour Comedy and One-Hour Dramas with sub-categories for Returning Shows and New Shows. And they’re all alphabetized. You’re welcome, me.

HALF-HOUR COMEDY

RETURNING SHOWS:

watching1.jpg
The Big Bang Theory (Season 10)
Not quite as fun for me as it used to be, but still a solid comedy in its 10th season. I’ll always appreciate its nerdy and scientific humor…and Jim Parsons.
Watch It: CBS, Mondays at 8/7c

watching2
Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Season 4)
My go-to office comedy since The Office and Parks and Recreation left us. I’m not big on cop shows, but this one is fun, has excellent characters, and always has me laughing out loud.
Watch It: FOX, Tuesdays at 8/7c

watching3
The Last Man on Earth (Season 3)
The fact that this is mostly a serialized half-hour show really intrigued me. I was more invested last season with guest star Jason Sudekeis, but let’s see what else season 3 brings.
Watch It: FOX, Sundays at 9:30/8:30c

watching4
The Mindy Project (Season 5)
FOX cancelled this show after three seasons, but I’m so glad Hulu saved it. Does it seem like half of New York’s eligible bachelors are after Mindy? Girlfriend’s got it going on. I must know her secret.
Watch It: Hulu, New Episodes on Tuesdays

watching5
Modern Family (Season 8)
Always heartwarming, always funny, Phil Dunphy is my hero.
Watch It: ABC, Wednesdays at 9/8c

watching6
New Girl (Season 6)
These friends have no boundaries ever…it’s sometimes annoying but mostly charming. Also, Schmidt is my spirit animal’s spirit animal. And I still miss Damon Wayans Jr.
Watch It: FOX, Tuesdays at 8:30/7:30c

watching7
Superstore (Season 2)
Honestly, there’s other shows I’d rather be watching, but this is an easy half-hour to throw on in the background while I do other things. It’s entertaining enough.
Watch It: NBC, Thursdays at 8/7c

NEW SHOWS:

watching8.jpg
The Good Place
I love me some Kristen Bell! Even when she’s a terrible person who accidentally ended up in The Good Place after she died. Now she’ll have to learn to be a good person if she doesn’t want to get caught and thrown out of paradise. With a few twists happening in the first few episodes, I’m interested to see how the rest of the season unfolds.
Watch It: NBC, Thursdays at 8:30/7:30c

watching9
The Great Indoors
Two words: Joel McHale. That’s enough to get me to watch this show when it premieres next week. But if you need more than that…apparently, Joel McHale’s character Jack has spent much of his life exploring the outdoors until he takes a desk job and must adapt to the current times and struggle to understand his staff of millenials who write about the great outdoors but never actually set foot outside.
Watch It: CBS, Series Premiere on Thursday, Oct 27 at 8:30/7:30c

ONE-HOUR DRAMA

RETURNING SHOWS:

watching10.jpg
Crazy Ex-Girlfriend (Season 2)

One of my favorite new shows! This musical comedy is so fun and witty, and co-creator/actress Rachel Bloom is absolute gold as the smart and kooky “crazy ex” Rebecca Bunch. Can’t wait to see what happens after Rebecca’s confession to Josh last season.
Watch It: The CW, Season Premiere on Friday, Oct 21 at 9/8c

watching11.jpg
Daredevil (Season 2)

Season 2 was released back in March, but I already want to re-watch this season again. The Punisher and Elektra storylines were excellent and full of beautiful quotes that I actually took time to make note of. Also, I learned it takes A LOT longer to beat people unconscious than it does to just take them out. But Daredevil don’t play dirty like that.
Watch It: Netflix, Season 1 & 2 Available Now

watching28
iZombie (Season 2)

Creator Rob Thomas is the brains (see what I did there?) behind this series, as well as one of my all-time favorites, Veronica Mars. While I’m not as in love with iZombie, I do like it. I think I just get easily bored with procedurals these days. And I find it hard to connect with Rose McIver’s Liv Moore, who is constantly changing personalities based on what brain she eats. Still, there’s some good stuff here, and I’m interested to see where the show goes. I hear Jason Dohring just got cast in season 3, so I’m definitely watching that.
Watch It: The CW, Returns for Season 3 in 2017

watching13.jpg
Lucifer (Season 2)

You don’t get more anti-hero than Lucifer. Good thing Tom Ellis is so devilishly charming. This show based off the DC Comics’ Lucifer is actually quite witty and funny, but I don’t terribly care for the police-procedural aspect as I prefer the overarching storyline. I’ll keep watching for now. Guess we’ll see what happens with mommy dearest in the picture.
Watch It: FOX, Mondays at 9/8c

watching14
Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD (Season 4)

Not on the same calibur as its Marvel/Netflix counterparts, but I still enjoy it just fine. Any time the show is lacking for me, I just cling to my love of Fitz-Simmons and it’s all good. This season they brought in Ghost Rider (not Johnny Blaze), so I’m interested to see how they tie this is in with the Inhumans storyline.
Watch It: ABC, Tuesdays at 10/9c

watching16
Mr. Robot (Season 2)

Binged this show over the summer and loved it. I’ve seen all of season 2 except for the final two episodes, which I’m waiting to watch with my dad. Emmy winner (woot woot!) Rami Malek is just perfection as hacker Elliot Alderson, who is a refreshingly unique kind of protagonist that suffers from social anxiety disorder, clinical depression, and delusions. But I still find him so endearing and empathize with him. He’s just trying to…”save the world.” This show is all so confusing and reality warping, but in the best way. Unfortunately, it usually airs over the summer, so I’ll have to wait awhile for season 3.
Watch It: USA, Returns for Season 3 in 2017

 watching17
Once Upon a Time (Season 6)

I really want this show to be good, but it’s still lacking for me. There’s potential here, but it ends up being more cheesy and watered-down than anything. Last season they brought in Dr. Jekyl/Mr. Hyde, and the Evil Queen has become her own entity a part from Regina. Honestly, I’m more excited for them to finally explore Aladdin and Jasmine’s stories this season. Even though the stories aren’t always executed the way I’d like, seeing favorite classic fairytale and Disney characters makes me nostalgic enough to continue watching this show.
Watch It: ABC, Sundays at 8/7c

watching18
Scandal (Season 5)

So. Much. Drama. Shonda Rhimes knows how to make a good soap! I’m not one at all for political stuff, but this show has kept my attention and had me gasping all over the place from all the scandals and surprising twists. Is it just me or is everyone’s “white hats” now stained in blood at this point? Unfortunately it’s not airing this fall season during all the actual political madness (coincidence?), so I’ll have to wait until next year for more.
Watch It: ABC, Returns for Season 6 in January 2017

watching19
Scream Queens (Season 2)

It’s a silly, over-the-top satire, but I still throw it on sometimes. And now that John Stamos and Taylor Lautner have joined the cast…FINE, I guess I’ll keep watching.
Watch It: FOX, Tuesdays at 9/8

watching20
Supernatural (Season 12)

The boys are back!! It’s already been 11 seasons, but I’ll never get tired of these guys. If anything, last season just gave the show even more momentum by going big and bringing in God and the Darkness. Now they’re going back to basics and sticking to the heart of the show: family. Momma Winchester is back and there’s another branch of the Men of Letters? Bring it on.
Watch It: The CW, Thursdays at 9/8c

watching27.jpg
UnREAL (Season 2)

I haven’t actually started season 2 yet, but I really enjoyed season 1 of this gritty show within a show. This gives a behind the scenes look at all the very real drama surrounding the production of a fictional Bachelor-esque dating show. It’s like you’re getting two shows in one! Double the drama. Since season 3 doesn’t air until next year, looks like I’ve got some time to catch up.
Watch It: Lifetime, Returns for Season 3 in 2017

watching28
The Vampire Diaries (Season 8)

This show is my happy place. I can’t express how devastated I am that this is the final season. But also, it’s probably about time it ended. I’m just hoping for a season full of cameos (PLEASE give us some Klaus) and homages, which they’re already doing by naming each episode title after notable lines of dialogue from previous episodes. I’m ready to feel all the feels.
Watch It: The CW, Final Season Premieres on Friday, Oct 21 at 8/7c

watching22
The Walking Dead (Season 7)

One of my all-time favorite shows that I always have to wait to binge with my dad. This show just got even better with the addition of Jeffrey Dean Morgan as the charismatic and terrifying Negan. I’m DYING to find out who died at the hand of Negan’s infamous bat, Lucille. Our gang was doing pretty well for themselves, but now…well just look at that photo above. Yikes
Watch It: AMC, Season Premiere on Sunday, Oct 23 at 9/8c

NEW SHOWS:

watching23
Frequency

I’ve only watched the pilot, but I’m already digging this new show by Jeremy Carver (Supernatural). In the present, NYPD detective Raimy Sullivan is somehow able to communicate with her deceased father Frank back in 1996 via an old ham radio. When she tries to save his life, she ends up altering the present more than she would like. Together they have to rewrite the past without stepping on too many butterflies and ruining everything and everyone they care about. I’m a sucker for daddy/daughter stuff, so sign me up for more.
Watch It: The CW, Wednesdays at 9/8c

watching26
Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life

I have to be honest. I’ve only seen maybe two seasons of Gilmore Girls. But I’ll still definitely be catching this four-part revival series when it hits Netflix! Maybe I’ll have time to binge-watch some of the other seasons before then.
Watch It: Netflix, Entire Season Available on Friday, Nov 25

watching15
Luke Cage
A black man in a hoodie is bulletproof and fearless and seeking justice in his city. He wasn’t looking for a fight, but the people need a hero. What a perfect time for this gritty superhero show to hit our televisions. Like Marvel/Netflix’s Daredvil and Jessica Jones, I was equally impressed with Luke Cage – it hits you in all the right spots. I love its themes of hope, of solidarity, and of community. Mike Colter is strong yet gentle as Luke Cage, and Rosario Dawson is effortless as Claire Temple, who proves to be just as tough as our hero, minus the super powers. You’ll feel it slow down towards the middle, but stick with it because once the cliffhangers start, you won’t be able to stop.
Watch It: Netflix, Season 1 Available Now

watching24
No Tomorrow

Basically, Evie’s order meets Xavier’s chaos…and then the world is going to end. At least that’s what Xavier thinks – he believes an asteroid is going to destroy the earth in eight months, and she mostly thinks he’s crazy. But together, they’ll seize the day by crossing off items on their individual “Apocalysts”. After a lifetime of playing it safe, maybe what she needs is for Xavier’s thrill-seeking, free-spiritedness to shake things up. I’ve watched the two episodes that have aired and find this show and its two leads to be pleasantly charming. Evie is quirky and all kinds of awkward, which I completely relate to (along with her love of order). It’s cute, it’s charming, it’s enough to keep me watching for now.
Watch It: The CW, Tuesdays at 9/8c

watching25
This Is Us

I crazy, stupid, love this show. Probably my favorite new fall show! First of all…what a cast. I’m falling in love with Milo Ventimiglia all over again. Creator Dan Fogelman also wrote the movie Crazy, Stupid, Love (which I’m a huge fan of), so you know he knows how to perfectly weave together multiple storylines. The rumors are true – you will cry during this show, even in its pilot episode, especially in its pilot episode. Network shows are often concise and rushed (because you gotta fit in those commercials), but this feels more like a movie, where you get to sit with the dialogue and the characters and their stories and experience it with them. But don’t worry, it’s not overly dramatic! It has the perfect blend of comedy and levity with all the realness. It honestly feels effortless as it follows these very connected stories and families. I don’t want to give anything away, so you’ll just have to watch it for yourself.
Watch It: NBC, Tuesdays at 9/8c

Wow. That’s a lot of shows. How do I get anything done in life? Still, I’m always on the lookout for more new shows to inspire me and just to enjoy in general. Have any suggestions for me?

Leave a Reply

